Skip to content

Astorflex desert boots

October 12, 2015

You may have heard the name Astorflex doing the internet rounds over the last few months, you may have read that they make “possibly the best desert boots in the world” . Well I thought it worth finding out and got myself a pair. And they are indeed pretty bloody brilliant.

IMG_1059

IMG_1056

IMG_1062

IMG_1060

IMG_1058

IMG_1057

These Italian made desert boots are the product of a factory that’s been making shoes for six generations. Local suppliers are used throughout the process – leading to high quality footwear at a fair price with complete transparency throughout their production. The methods used in making the boots are as eco-friendly as possible and all shoes are produced using water based colours, non-solvent glues, vegetable tanned leather and natural rubber soles.

The boots themselves are actually called ‘Greenflex’ and they feature lovely soft suede, with a tan leather lining and a comfy-as-you-like memory foam footbed and crepe outsole. I’ve only just started wearing them now the weather has turned (I’ve had them a couple of months) and they’re the most comfortable pair of this kind of boots I’ve ever owned. They came with two pairs of laces – one a simple tonal cotton and the other are more contrasting waxed cotton. I’ve opted for the latter and think they suit the boots well. I’m looking forward to giving them some serious wear over the coming months.

They’re stocked by an ever growing number of shops, so if you fancy a pair you can find them in End, Oi Polloi, Present, The Hip Store, Peggs & Son, The Shopkeeper Store and Kafka. For more information on the brand, go to the website here: Astorflex.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    November 16, 2015 3:55 pm

    Hello, I hear these run narrow. What is your opinion? I’m about to order a pair, thanks, Jim

    • November 17, 2015 9:34 am

      Hi Jim,

      They are a bit narrow, but I haven’t found them to be uncomfortable.

      I have been wearing them with thin socks though, so if you’re wanting them for winter and are planning on wearing thick socks, you might want to go half a size up.

      I’ll give them a try on tonight with some thicker socks are report back.

      • Jim permalink
        November 17, 2015 11:07 am

        I ordered my normal size. I’m hoping that they are more forgiving. They don’t have half sizes so I would have to go up a full size. Let me know how the heavier socks work. Thanks, Jim

  2. Gage permalink
    July 14, 2016 5:15 pm

    Hey there, I was wondering what color these astorflex boots are? Is this the stone, whiskey or dark khaki color? Thanks!

    Also any comments on how the suede holds up to rain and moisture?

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

