Skip to content

Marks and Spencer – Best of British

October 10, 2013

In all honesty, I didn’t think the day when I featured M&S on the blog would come. In the four years I’ve been writing this I’ve wanted to feature them, but with a product range that did nothing for me, and a marketing strategy that saw them target Men of 55+ it wasn’t going to happen.

But with the release of their ‘Best of British’ range, all that has changed. I first heard about this last year and subsequently saw what they did at London Collections: Men – but in all honesty, although I thought it was a great concept, I was sceptical it would ever actually reach market. Well it has and it’s very good.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.15

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.25

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.23 1

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.21

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.22

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.18

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.26 1

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.20

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.23

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.17

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 09.16.18 1

As you’d guess from the title, Best of British is a collection made on these shores, using some fantastic and prestigious factories and a range of beautiful fabrics. The range spans staple items from tailoring, shirts, outerwear and knitwear, through to accessories like footwear, bags, ties and braces. All of them priced well and from the pieces I’ve seen, impeccably made.

It’s the cost of these things that’s most eye-opening though. Lambswool jumpers are £55-£65, the cashmere crew necks are £149. And let me tell you, M&S Cashmere is amongst the best out there. The suiting price reflects the level of attention applied to it, coming it at £800. I’m guessing that’s a bit of a hike compared to most of their suits, but it’s a price easily justified by the quality.

And everything else is just as well priced – yes it may be more than core customers are used to paying, but it’s still less than many similar British made products. I could continue talking about how impressed I am with everything (because I am) but there is still one hurdle left for me – I don’t know how any of this fits. But if they’ve got that as right as everything else then this range is well worth investigating and has certainly got me more interested in this venerable high street brand.

Finally, the other thing it does is make a mockery of all the big labels out there saying they can’t afford to manufacture in this country. If M&S can do it (and do it well) then anyone can. The range is available from today, so for more information, go to the website here: Best of British.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 8:41 pm

    In reality I’ll probably never see the full collection in person as it’s not stocked in many stores, which is a shame. I’ll take your word for it though. Quite partial to the lambswool jumper you pictured here, that’s a very attractive price.

    • lineage of Influence permalink
      October 14, 2013 9:43 am

      It’s all available online too Mat if you fancy taking a punt with sizes.

      It’s a shame they haven’t rolled it out nationwide though, I guess they’re just seeing if it does well on a small scale first.

  2. October 11, 2013 9:59 am

    No doubt about it, some fine looking pieces there. Well done.

  3. Smartypants permalink
    October 11, 2013 10:28 am

    *Runs to nearest M&S*

Leave a Reply

