Skip to content

Barbour – a jacket for life

January 3, 2013

In addition to producing jackets for their customers to cherish for decades (I’ve had mine for 20 years), Barbour also repair, re-wax and generally restore jackets that have seen a hard life via their Customer Services Dept, based in their South Shields factory.

This short film by Tin Man Films hears the varied stories of Barbour owners throughout the UK, and also goes behind the scenes in the repair department, seeing coats being brought back to life and allowing them to serve their owners in the way they intended.

For more information on the service and the brand in general, go to the website here: Barbour.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Smartypants123 permalink
    January 3, 2013 10:12 am

    Lovely stuff fella and a great start to the new year.

  2. James permalink
    January 3, 2013 10:15 am

    I’ve had my Barbour for about 5 years and it’s in need of a re-wax and a tidy up. Was going to do it myself, now i think i”ll send it back to them.

  3. Major Power permalink
    January 3, 2013 11:34 am

    But hold on, does Barbour still make all their jackets in this factory?

  4. Rob permalink
    January 4, 2013 12:17 pm

    I bought a Barbour before Christmas. Was after a new coat and thought I’d give them a try. Never really been bothered by them but saw one I liked and took the plunge. I sent it back the very next day. The quality of the lining and buttons was awful for a £230 jacket. The girlfriend said it looked more like a £70/£100 jacket. That’s the problem when a brand goes through a surge, quality suffers. I suppose the old ones are the best ones.

    • January 4, 2013 12:22 pm

      Oh that’s a real shame to know. I have to admit that I haven’t looked at the new ones up close and have no intention of retiring my old girl just yet.

      • Rob permalink
        January 4, 2013 12:49 pm

        I really wanted to like it, especially after looking into the brand’s heritage, but I felt massively underwhelmed.

  5. Jonny Briggs permalink
    January 9, 2013 2:38 pm

    The old ones are way better than the shite they peddle now. Thank fuck their aftercare service is pretty top notch. Used it loads of times and they’ve always done a decent job.

  6. May 24, 2013 6:57 am

    They still make very good coats, some tough and some more trendy so they use thinner material on them so they are softer, just buy what type of jacket you need. Overall they make lovely jackets and are British. I know people who have brought so called designer wear shirts for money than barbour jackets so I think they are very good value.

Leave a Reply

