Skip to content

Oliver Spencer brogues

July 24, 2012

Last week I took full advantage of the Mr Porter sale and treated myself to some new shoes (amongst other things). As they were half price and inspired by his latest show I opted for a pair of red suede full brogues from Oliver Spencer, granted they’re not something I’d normally go for but for the price I thought I’d give them a go.

They’re a lovely pair of shoes, Northampton made (not sure which factory though) in lush red suede with a Goodyear welted full leather sole. They’re certainly not a shoe for shrinking violets and I’ll admit to feeling very self conscious the first time I wore them. I love a bit of colour but bright, rather violently red shoes are pretty hard to pull off.

My plan of attack so far has been to wear a shed load of navy blue and shove these on my feet hoping that the darkness of my clothes balances out the “Look at me bitches” brightness of the shoes. All of this does however belie the fact that I love these shoes, have coveted them for a good few months and that they’re simply excellent.

The only change I’ve made is with the laces – originally they came with a black leather pair but I felt they were a bit heavy and out of keeping, so I put in the old Tellason’s from my Present Tricker’s and I think they work a treat, being more in balance with the casual nature of the shoes.

For more information on the brand, or to find your nearest stockist, go to the website here: Oliver Spencer.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 9:07 am

    just bought some Quoddy suede Bluchers from Oliver Spencer. Words cannot describe how stoked I am for them to arrive. HAHA! They just came whilst I was writing this.

  2. July 24, 2012 11:36 am

    Reblogged this on MAD seuwichi.

  3. Jonny Briggs permalink
    July 25, 2012 11:08 am

    Fucking hell lad, they’re bright. Nice mind, but I couldn’t wear em myself.

  4. Rob permalink
    July 25, 2012 12:30 pm

    The only bright coloured shoes I can get away with are boat shoes. I’ve had orange/tan, racing green, cobalt, yellow and lavender.

    Size 11 brogues in red or any other bright colour tend to make me look like I’m wearing clown shoes!

  5. July 25, 2012 8:51 pm

    really can’t imagine them with the mentioned black laces, the new ones look a treat

  6. James permalink
    July 27, 2012 12:43 pm

    These are so nice!

Leave a Reply

