Skip to content

Oliver Spencer – Camouflage Fisher jacket

September 15, 2011

Just a quick one today. You may have noticed that there’s a fair amount of camo floating around for the Winter months this year, as it’s slowly started to make its way back into Men’s fashion in various guises, by various labels. One of the brands that I think are doing it well is our very own Oliver Spencer.

First seen at his inaugural LFW show earlier this year (find that here) comes the Fisher jacket, a short bodied piece which is manufactured in London and constructed out of our classic British military camouflage DPM (Disruptive Pattern Material). Featuring leather football buttons, a pair of front slash pockets and a mid positioned chest pocket, the jacket was one of the stand out pieces from Oliver’s menswear show earlier in the year.

Spencer himself considers the piece “a sophisticated take on a varsity jacket” and it’s certainly one that looks a lot smarter than you’d expect an item of this kind to. It’s available now from Oliver Spencer shops, independent stockist or online, but be quick as they look to be flying out. For more information on the brand go here: Oliver Spencer.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ben permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:29 am

    Is it too soon for a camo comeback? It really is one of the things I put behind me in my 20’s and now,in my mid 30’s, I think im just getting too old for it, id rather wear blocks of green like in the cabourn stuff this season than camo. As camo jackets go it is very nice though.

    • September 15, 2011 1:07 pm

      Camo’s a bit of a funny one for me if I’m honest. I see pieces (like this) that I think are great but I’m not sure I could see myself wearing it. The Cabourn stuff for next season is very good and I fancy a piece of that but I’m not sure it’ll suit, same with some of the pieces Edwin and HR are doing. In the end I always just give it a miss, maybe I should give it a go one day soon?

  2. Terence permalink
    September 16, 2011 11:41 am

    If you remember Rodney Trotter then it is best to stay away from camo.

    • Neil permalink
      September 17, 2011 7:59 pm

      Haha was watching Only Fools last night and thought the exact same thing!

  3. Smartypants123 permalink
    September 16, 2011 12:34 pm

    Well nice. I’m in my mid 30’s and I still wear Camo and I’d happily wear this. You should give it a go fella!

    • September 16, 2011 12:41 pm

      It’s a lovely piece isn’t it. This and the longer jacket that were in the collection are both cracking and the way they were styled was spot on, but I’m not sure if it suits me and I guess that’s my problem.

      It’s not camouflage itself (and this is a million miles away from surplus stuff anyway), as I always see it on others and think it looks bang on, it’s just when I try it myself.

      I should take a trip to the shop and give one a go shouldn’t I…

  4. James permalink
    September 16, 2011 1:15 pm

    Oliver Spencer has put this on his facebook.

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Oliver-Spencer/155829534426#!/pages/Oliver-Spencer/155829534426

    my take is that I think it all depend on how you wear it.

    • ben permalink
      September 17, 2011 10:00 pm

      didnt realise i was starting a debate! ill have to keep my eyes open for angry camo wearing people called oliver now!

Leave a Reply

