Skip to content

Handsom cardigan

May 10, 2011

When I posted Handsom’s Autumn/Winter 2011 collection a while back (find that here), I commented on how much I liked the knitwear. Especially the mustard jumper and the cardigan.

Fast forward a few months and now that the range is available I have got me a burgundy cardy. I would have got a jumper but it’s always best to know the limitations of one’s skin tone. I can’t be wearing yellow being as pale as I am. Plus you get more wear out of a cardigan in Spring don’t you…

The first thing I noticed was how nice the knit is.  The body is cable knit front and back but the sleeves are a plain, quite chunky and loose knit (something you couldn’t tell with the original images) as is the placket and collar – which also happen to be doubled over for more strength. Then there’s the long ribbed cuffs and the carved wooden buttons.

The fit’s perfect and it’s nice and soft. Although it’s knitted, it’s not 100% wool, instead being an 80% wool, 20% acrylic mix. Now I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to knitwear so would prefer pure wool but this mix does have one very good thing going for it – it’s loads easier to take care of and won’t stretch out of shape like some knitwear can. Now I’ve said time and time again that I love Cashmere and the like but let’s not pretend that it’s not a pain in the arse to look after. This is much easier.

The best thing about it though is that it’s just really nice – comfy, soft, simple but not flat and boring. Oh and considering most of my cardigans seem to be navy blue, this makes a welcome change, just what I was after for Spring time. I’ve been wearing it loads since I got it too, just chuck it on over a T-shirt and you’re sorted.

For more information on the brand, visit their website here: Handsom.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 10:20 pm

    looks sweet. nice bit of colour

Leave a Reply

