Skip to content

Common Projects Autumn/Winter 2011 – part two

March 31, 2011

As the last post I did on this in February proved very popular (find that here), I thought it worth a look at more of the next Common Projects collection. It’s certainly a broad range as this second post should go some way to showing, so without further ado let’s have a butchers at some more of this lovely footwear.

There’s another colourway for the Achilles Premium, the standard version is once again available in navy blue with a matching sole and there’s also a version in a mix of suede and leather. The toe cap is back in leather and comes in both a low and a high, as does the Tournament, although for some reason the Tournament’s sole seems to come pre-distressed (well dirty), which would be cleaned immediately if they were mine, I don’t do dirty footwear.

As well as the new Duck, Ankle and Postal boots, there’s also a Chelsea and a burgundy high boot, both sitting on the new black sole unit. I think the lighter of the two Chelsea boots works really well, what with the matching elastic and sole contrasting well with the upper and the gold numbers setting the whole thing off. I’m not sure I’m quite at the Chelsea boot stage yet but if I was I’d be tempted with this interpretation of them.

So seeing the whole collection there’s certainly a bit of something for everyone, although as I’ve said before, they ain’t cheap. There’s one thing missing though – it’d be great if they brought back the simple white leather court shoe, it was a brilliant piece of footwear and one I regret not buying when I had chance, please bring it back…

For more information on the current range, or to find a stockist go here: Common Projects.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Luke McDonald permalink
    March 31, 2011 5:46 pm

    If you miss the plain whites I reccomend Erik Schedins trainers http://www.erikschedin.com/ they are white leather very minimal and fantastic. I will say with common projects I feel a hesitation as I tend to wear through soles quickly, can you repair trainers like these? I mean its hardly worth paying that kind of money for trainers you’ll burn through in 6 months no matter how good.

  2. Rob permalink
    April 1, 2011 11:27 am

    Common Projects are very nice but so damn expensive for what is in all honesty a pair of leather plimsolls, which as mentioned already, I’d wreck in about 6 months.

  3. Staxowax permalink
    April 2, 2011 6:19 am

    Aaaaaargh! £270 for trainers. Has the world gone mad? Hand stitched & blessed by Tibetan monks no doubt. Not so Common pricing.

  4. April 8, 2011 11:09 am

    Well they’re not made by Tibetan monks as far as I’m aware, they are very well made though.

    I’m not pretending for a single second that they aren’t a lot of cash but you are getting great build and quality materials.

    I’ve had a pair of white Achilles for about 2 1/2 years now. They’re a bit battered but still get worn loads and still have loads of life left in them.

    Whether they’re worth it or not is up to you, I’ve got a few pairs but then I’ve never paid anywhere near £270 for any of my pairs, I bought them when they were just over half that.

Leave a Reply

