Skip to content

Diary of a sockoholic

February 11, 2011

I bloody love socks, but then, who doesn’t? Socks are great. Everyone loves socks, or at least they should.

I’ve talked before about how I’m a bit of a sock fiend, love nothing more than decent pairs in bright colours, and can’t help but buy them when I see them. The great thing is I wear them out so quickly that I’m constantly having to buy new ones and I never get bollocked by the wife because they’re a necessity aren’t they? So every time I feel the itch to partake in some retail therapy I buy socks.

Which brings me to my latest trip to TRUNK Clothiers the other day (which I wrote about back when they opened here). I popped in for a browse, found loads of great stuff that I fancied, thought to myself “well I’ve got to buy something, it’d be rude not too, but it’s not going to end well” and then “oh thank fuck, they’ve got some nice socks, spend away son”. So I did, buying two pairs of their collaboration with Japanese brand Tabio.

Along with the pair in that lovely shade of green, I’ve also branched out and bought some stripey ones – this happens to be a major deviation on my part because I only ever wear solid coloured socks. As you can imagine it’s like a new and exciting world opening up to me, well something like that anyway…

Both pairs are really well made, which when you factor in that they’re £15 a go you’d want them to be. I know that’s expensive but then I like nice socks. I’ve only worn the green pair so far and they’re lovely and comfortable – not too thick nor too thin, so they feel like they’ll last a while, which hopefully they will. The striped pair are sat in the wardrobe still with the tag on as I’ve not got round to wearing them yet, actually I think I’ll live dangerously and wear them tomorrow.

If you fancy some of these too, get yourself to London’s Chiltern Street where you’ll find the shop. For more info on the shop and how to get there have a look at their website: TRUNK Clothiers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 9:52 am

    nice one, i didn’t know about this collabo either. i have a couple of pairs of tabio socks and they are really well made. probably 10x better than any others i have. the green is ace

  2. Rob permalink
    February 11, 2011 1:12 pm

    I usually buy a pair of socks if I can’t find anything to buy. Makes me feel like I’ve not wasted my afternoon.

Leave a Reply

