Skip to content

Waxing my desert boots – operation Clarks

February 8, 2011

After waxing my Common Projects a while ago now (find that post here) I tried doing a wrecked pair of Clarks that I had, but due to the suede being quite rough I couldn’t get an even flat finish on them and decided they were a bit of a mistake. So I scrubbed some of the wax out, carried on wearing them though the winter, battering them even more and they’ve just become a pair of wet weather shoes.

However, I did notice that with the initial waxing and then all of the scrubbing that’s gone into getting salt stains out of them over Winter, that the suede had flattened down considerably. So I thought I’d give them another go just to see if a second coat of wax would work and I’d show them on here regardless, so here they are.

So that’s them. Second time lucky? Well not really. It’s fair to say that they haven’t worked anywhere near as well as the Common Projects did and that’s purely down to the difference in materials – the flat surface of the Common Projects’ Nubuck made it a lot easier to work on them and it looks like waked cotton does when it’s dry. With the suede however, it’s the nap that’s the problem – some areas will flatten down whereas others wont, so it’s just not possible to get a flat, even texture all over.

However, they are now very waterproof, in fact there’s so much wax on them that they’re brilliant when it’s chucking it down and they’re the boots I now always wear on stormy days, so not all was lost. Although I’d not recommend doing this to a perfectly decent pair of boots, if you have a pair that are stained or really grubby and destined for the bin, then this might be a way of giving them some more life. And for the cost of a tin of wax it’s worth the experiment in my opinion.

Although mine weren’t that old I had managed to spill a load of oil over them, ruining them in the process so they were never going to be my ‘best’ boots anyway. Plus now they’re the perfect pair of rainy day footwear and I think they’ll start to look better as they get more scratched up and worn.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 10:29 pm

    they have turned a nice colour, they sort of remind me of chocolate cookies weirdly. what type of wax would you recc? the laces are a nice add-on

    • February 9, 2011 9:12 am

      Cheers Mat. I was surprised by how dark they turned as they used to be sand but as you say they’re now a chocolate brown. The wax I used was just normal Barbour Thornproof dressing but if I do another pair in the future I might try Nikwax or similar.

  2. Smartypants123 permalink
    February 9, 2011 10:07 am

    These don’t look that bad fella.

    They might not be totally smooth but I don’t think you even notice from a foot away. They look a bit like the Millerain ones too, which is a right touch if you ask me. I’m going to give this a crack myself soon.

Leave a Reply

