Skip to content

A bit of Spring cleaning

January 26, 2011

As I had a day off work on Monday, and as I had the flat to myself, it seemed like the perfect excuse to get the guitars out and give them all a clean, tune up, restring a couple and give them all a proper play. And whilst they were cluttering up the living room I thought it’d be a good opportunity to take some snaps.

It’s no secret that I’m a bit of a guitar nut and after nearly 20 years of playing, buying, trading and selling guitars (but more buying than anything else), I’ve owned more than I can remember and have an accumulation now of about 16 – five Les Paul’s, two Telecasters, two ES330’s, an SG, an ES175, a Melody Maker, a Hummingbird, two Spanish guitars (one of which is seven string) and a Kalamazoo KG14 (pre-war), plus a uke too.

If you’re of the personality that hoards things then don’t ever start playing the guitar and certainly don’t buy a vintage one, NEVER buy a vintage one, it will be your downfall. Before you know it you’ll have pieces of stringed wood lying about everywhere and they’ll be all you think about (which as you can imagine is loads of fun for everyone else).

I try and justify the reason for so many because they all do very different things and all sound different to one another – they require different approaches and different types of music played on them. In all honesty though I just love guitars (practical tools are seldom as beautiful as vintage musical instruments), don’t like selling them and having a small collection – a symbol of my utter geekery to the cause I guess – makes me happy.

It’s all got very Spinal Tap in our place – yes I do have a few that have still got ‘the old tagger on’ and I do have a thing for sunburst Les Paul’s – the one in the first picture used to belong to Rod Stewart’s guitarist, now that’s rock & roll baby!

Now I just need a room big enough to get all of them in one place. Mmm guitar room…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Noo permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:26 pm

    Lovely collection! Guitars and clothes eh…it’s a fantastic combination but a slippery slope!

  2. dan permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:16 pm

    WOW. You have an incredible collection, those are absolutely beautiful. I’m over here in NY wishing I had one vintage gibson acoustic, but sadly my funds don’t allow me to afford any, including none of the clothes that I admire on your site. Cheers, hope all is well, and continue your blog, it’s as unique as your guitar collection.

  3. January 27, 2011 6:20 am

    Dude, your like a one man guitar museum. Love them all.

  4. snack permalink
    January 31, 2011 4:44 pm

    You have too much money and too much stuff

Leave a Reply

