Skip to content

Woolrich Woolen Mills Autumn/Winter 2011 collection

January 20, 2011

So then, here we are with the images from Woolrich Woolen Mills’ Autumn/Winter 2011 collection. It marks the beginning of Mark McNairy’s tenure as creative director of the label, and also gives us our first look of the direction he’ll be taking things from now on.

First impressions are that it all looks very wearable but feels very different to what we’ve come to expect from WWM. There’s still a few quirky pieces in there but it feels smarter, more prep even, than what Daiki Suzuki had been doing over the last five years with the brand.

It certainly looks like a collection of very wearable pieces with the Duffle coats, multi-paneled shirt and the brogue boots with the yellow laces all really standing out, maybe due to them having more going on than some of the other pieces. The Duffle especially with all of those tonal panels printed on it looks well nice and the burgundy and navy striped version is an absolute winner too – I’d be very tempted with that for next Winter.

I really like the look of the grey hooded top with the navy cuffs and hem in the fourth image and the four pocket charcoal blazer in the last image – both very different but easily wearable everyday pieces all the same. The trousers looks decent, I know the rolled legs are going to get plenty of groans but it’s not like they come like this and you can’t beat a good pair of cotton trousers for when the cold weather gives you a break can you.

I’m presuming that there’ll be much more to this collection than has been shown so far, I for one am looking forward to seeing it – first impressions are that it looks like a really strong collection. There’s plenty to it as a range and in my opinion is that it’s a great start.

For more information go here: Woolrich Woolen Mills.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alex permalink
    January 20, 2011 5:42 pm

    The striped Duffle coat is firmly on my radar for next season. I like when Mcnairy’s going with this.

  2. Paul permalink
    January 27, 2011 3:14 pm

    I really like some of these pieces. The duffel coat and the pocket designs on the vest and hooded jacket look wonderful. It’s difficult for me to shift gears, b/c Daiki did such a good job of keeping his designs planted within the outdoorsy roots of WWM. I know there is a greater depth and history to the brand, but ‘Prep’ or ‘Ivy’ is appropriately used to define this collection so far. Nothing here speaks rugged, which I’ve come to expect with the brand.

  3. July 30, 2011 12:18 am

    Ok, I give up…where can I buy those Broque boots?????? I cannot find them anywhere!

    • July 31, 2011 4:38 pm

      They’ve not been released yet as far as I know. As soon as they are I’ll probably do a proper post on them.

      EDIT: If you’re in the UK you can now get these boots from End Clothing in Newcastle.

Leave a Reply

