Skip to content

Heritage Research x Quoddy Grizzly boots

January 10, 2011

Well it’s taken nearly a year but finally I’ve got myself a pair of the Heritage Research x Quoddy Grizzly boots. I’ve featured them twice already on the blog and a fortnight ago I finally bought myself a pair from Oi Polloi in their sale, saving myself eighty quid in the process (result).

I knew they’d be good but they’re even better than I thought they’d be – beautifully made, fantastic materials and that specially designed Vibram sole, excellent. They stand out from pretty much everything else out there at the moment. The sole is a bit ‘Marmite’ and I know plenty of people who really don’t like it, but I love it and think it works perfectly.

The contrasting leather on the uppers (peanut and dark brown) is thick and hard wearing, looking like it’ll take some serious abuse without much worry (my Tender jeans are doing their best to turn it all blue though). The Deer skin bellows tongue is in an even darker, richer brown to add even more contrast and due to it being fully stitched in also makes the boots extremely warm and comfortable.

The only problem I had with them was that I’m normally a UK 7.5 but the only pair left in the sale were a UK7, so although they fitted, they were a bit tight on my right foot. This was easily remedied by removing the insole (which is leather with a foam cushion underneath) and removing the foam – which was nearly 4mm thick – from the toe section. I left the foam from the instep back and curved the remaining to match the shape of my foot, put it back in the boot and hey presto, they feel great now – still very comfortable and still looking factory too, perfect.

So I’m glad I got them and even more so that I managed to save a big chunk of cash in the process. There seem to be odd pairs still floating about in the sales (mainly in bigger sizes) so if you were thinking of taking the plunge then now’s the time to do it.

For more information on Heritage Research go here and for Quoddy their website is here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 11:19 pm

    how come people are not down with the sole? what’s not to like, am i missing something?

    glad you managed to bag them, i’m still searching for a quality yet lightweight boot

  2. Dan H permalink
    January 17, 2011 4:27 pm

    Just bought some Woodsman (the higher version of these) on the Vibram sole myself… Quoddy does make an excellent pair of boots without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

