Skip to content

The old man’s Brogues

December 16, 2010

I’ve been told in no uncertain terms that I’m not to buy anymore footwear (being under the thumb is so comfortable isn’t it), which is fine as I’ve got more pairs than should really be legal, but I really would like either a decent pair of leather boots or shoes for winter.

I can’t wear my Lodgers when it’s wet (milkshake suede and muddy puddles do not mix) and even though the Margiella’s are leather they’re too delicate to be battering them through the winter months. Most of the time I just wear either my old Clarks desert boots or my waxed Common Projects but both are relatively lightweight and neither are particularly smart so not really suitable for client meetings and that sort of thing.

So what am I to do? Well I was thinking about nicking my Dad’s brogues off him, that’s what.

They’re a ‘Country Brogue’ by Loake for Charles Tyrwhitt that I bought for him as a Christmas present about eight years ago – so technically they’re mine as I paid for them, no? He wears them loads, at least two or three times a week since and they’re starting to wear in really well.

The old man’s not afraid to get them filthy and they get worn rain or shine, but he’s still looked after them pretty well. They get cleaned and polished regularly (although they’ve never seen a shoe tree, which has meant the creasing on the vamp is quite apparent) and he wears either these or his market boots (which I’m also after and did a post on here) on most shoot days, meaning they often come home wet and covered in mud.

He’s been after a good pair of black Brogues for a while now so I’ve bought him a pair of decent Grenson’s for Christmas. The hope is that he’ll forget about these and I can steal them. That way he thinks I’m great for getting him expensive new shoes and I get his old ones. What an underhand little sod I am…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leo permalink
    December 16, 2010 6:24 pm

    They look in very good shape for a regularly used eight year old shoe. If you have to feed your shoe habit by stealing your daddy’s shoes…. I think it’s ok!

  2. December 16, 2010 7:16 pm

    i’ve never actually found the perfect brogues, i have a pair of burgundy loake brogues but they are slight too big and as i bought them in a vtg shop they had been reheeled but this has made them slight stacked. just a bit too high.

    i would abs love a pair just like these, your old man has kept them in very good condition. my shoes get wrecked. saying that 3 years on and my clarkes still ok ok. good post

  3. Christopher Allsop permalink
    August 1, 2016 7:59 pm

    Those look like Charles Tyrwhitt’s Paddington country brogues. Best shoes I have ever owned – they last and last, and take any amount of abuse. Why have they discontinued them? Where can I get them? I have been looking for about three years for anything as good. Somebody is selling a few unused pairs on Ebay, but not in size 8.

Leave a Reply

