Skip to content

Thinking about colour – part four

November 22, 2010

Recently I’ve noticed a colour creeping into my wardrobe that I didn’t think I’d ever really accommodate – orange. I’ve had a small flirtation with it in the past, buying a Raf Simons x Fred Perry polo in bright orange a couple of seasons ago, but that was where it stopped and I thought it was probably a one off for the summer, which at the time it was.

I’ve been more and more attracted to it of late though and a couple of weeks ago I realised that I’d been buying and wearing things in this colour without really noticing. First up was a UniQlo T-shirt the other half bought me, then the Albam Trail Parka in burnt orange, a couple of pairs of Falke socks and my recent Yuketen deck chukkas. Plus I nearly bought one of Albam’s cotton totes in the same shade last week, not to mention my attraction to the Toast anorak in this colour, Albam’s new workwear jacket that I featured a while back and the Trickers below.

I think there’s one very simple reason for this – orange generally goes really well with blue and as we’ve established I’m a fan of that particular colour. I’ve found myself slipping back into wearing loads of blue again recently (maybe as an Autumnal thing?), so I’m possibly attracted to orange to balance this out a bit and act as a foil, giving things a bit of a lift at the same time?

However, the fact that something goes well with another wouldn’t normally draw me to something like orange as a colour, although the amount of it out there at the moment is clearly having some kind of subconscious effect on my buying by the look of things. I just can’t get enough of it! It’s hardly going to get to the stage where I’m wearing it to the point of looking like a Tango advert, but a bit here and there goes a long way.

And that’s the point I guess – it’s a great colour and it does go brilliantly with blue. Orange socks with a pair of washed but still dark jeans looks ace, as does all navy with orange shoes. Plus it’s bright and fun, making a change from drab greens and browns that seem to proliferate at this time of year. Whereas many would think of it as a summer colour, in my opinion it’s better suited to Autumn – for a start it matches the colours of the leaves that are still hanging on to trees and covering pavements, but it’s also less blatant than red which always makes an appearance around this time of year.

Plus if the Spring/Summer 2011 collections I’ve been seeing are anything to go by then it’s a colour that’s going to be everywhere next year so you may as well start on it now…

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Macca permalink
    November 22, 2010 1:58 pm

    Orange is a power color. It is one of the healing colors. It is said to increase the craving for food. It also stimulates enthusiasm and creativity. Orange means vitality with endurance. People who like orange are usually thoughtful and sincere.

    From: http://crystal-cure.com/orange.html

    Sounds like a load of b*llcks to me though…

  2. November 22, 2010 2:04 pm

    And as for blue:

    “Blue is the coolest color – the color of the sky, ocean, sleep, twilight.”

    Well bugger me, I’d never have guessed that…

  3. November 22, 2010 7:14 pm

    That’s a weird one, because it’s a colour I’ve also recently become enamoured with.
    I really want an orange technical jacket. The Albam Ventille jacket being the piece I most hope they re-release.

    It’s popped up a bit this season….

  4. Scott permalink
    November 22, 2010 9:18 pm

    I can’t believe your talking about a colour.

    Do people really enjoy this sort of chat?

    • November 23, 2010 9:26 am

      Hello Scott, hope you’re well?

      I think some people probably like this kind of chat, although I really couldn’t say for sure. As it’s a personal blog and it’s me talking about the random shit that pops into my head I don’t mind if people like it or not though – it’d be nice if they did but it’s not exactly life and death is it?

      I’m aware that not everyone likes/cares/is remotely interested in the things that I am.

      • Scott permalink
        November 23, 2010 10:15 am

        Yes, it’s a personal blog but could you see yourself having a chat in the ‘real’ world about such a topic?

        Now, where’s the 3 other parts?

        p.s My favourite shade is olive.

      • November 23, 2010 10:23 am

        Would I talk about it like I’ve written it? No, but then that’s sort of the point. I have had chats about this sort of thing before, but it’s not like I’m harping on in the pub to the lads about it. Well not unless they ask anyway.

        Do a search and you’ll find the others. To be honest I’m not sure you’re going to like them though…

  5. Dave permalink
    November 22, 2010 9:53 pm

    For fuck sake, people like you really know how to take the fun out of clothes, don’t you?

    • November 23, 2010 9:21 am

      Yep, I really do. That’s what I’m all about, sucking the joy out of clothes.

      Well done for noticing me pilfering it away, snatching it out from right under your nose.

      Oh look I made that rhyme. Aren’t I clever.

  6. james permalink
    November 23, 2010 7:42 am

    I got the Albam trail parka earlier in the year in orange and I love it. Not sure I’d buy anything else in it though but the jacket is great.

  7. Scott permalink
    November 23, 2010 10:28 am

    You’re right I don’t need to read it, I just couldn’t believe we’ve got to this level.

    Good luck with your cravat award.

    • November 23, 2010 10:35 am

      We both know that there’s as much chance of me winning that as there is of you liking this blog.

      • Scott permalink
        November 23, 2010 10:51 am

        Well, if it’s any consolation it has the same level as meaning to me, as your blog.

      • November 23, 2010 11:06 am

        Which I imagine is the same amount as your opinion means to me.

        x

  8. smartypants123 permalink
    November 23, 2010 11:35 am

    Cat fight boys? It’s staggering that people hate stuff yet continue to read it isn’t it. God forbid that people just talk about whatever they want to on their own blogs.

    Let’s call the fucking fashion police shall we?

  9. smartypants123 permalink
    November 23, 2010 11:43 am

    Oh and I prefer a good bit of yellow. I do have dark skin though so I can work that shit baby.

  10. MKVC permalink
    November 23, 2010 1:24 pm

    I find it unbelievable that someone would take the time to read a blog they have no interest in, and then take more time to leave several comments about their lack of interest in said blog.

    Keep up the good work Rob your blog is my favourite lunch time read.

  11. November 23, 2010 3:04 pm

    I’ve a feeling Scott’s a sad c#nt who has his own blog that nobody takes a blind bit of notice of, so has to resort to this sort of behaviour. Well, at least we know that talking about colour ain’t ‘cool’, at the mo at least.

    I’ve realised I’ve added a few orange items (inc Montreals) to my wardrobe recently. It hasn’t been a concious thing to choose orange ( maybe at some subconscious level there was?) but I agree, the colour really does set off well against blue.

    Keep up the good work with this blog!

    • Scott permalink
      November 23, 2010 5:05 pm

      I am a sad cu/t Alun, but I’ve not resorted to taking photos of myself in the garden at the age of 42 so I’m alright on that front.

      It’s not a case of being cool, it’s just dry content. Remember It’s orange you’re talking about here, part 4 of 4.

      Well, maybe I’m wrong and the internets needs these things, more inventory/freeman contrived inane chat.

      Now frantically email your ‘pals’ to wade in with more backup content.

      Fuds.

      • November 23, 2010 5:41 pm

        Oh Scott, haven’t you noticed that I don’t care if you like what’s on here or not, in the same way I’m sure you don’t care what I think about what you do with Back & Forth.

        If you think it’s inane then that’s fine, but I fail to see how you’re delivering better content on your blog than either here, Inventory, Free/Man or anything else out there? Maybe I’ve missed something, I’m sure you’ll enlighten me though…

      • November 23, 2010 8:36 pm

        There we go, it was Scott from Back and forth after all.

        Was a big supporter of B&f blog initially, but it quickly lost any of it’s initial charm. I’d really look at your own before having a go at others.

        For the record, I’m 43 and yes I do take photos of myself in the garden. Here we go [ http://apllywarch.tumblr.com/ ] Not as many posts these days as I’ve now become a lot more mobile and can get out a lot more.

        I’m not going to e-mail anybody, don’t feel the need to wade in. Of course, feel free to call upon your ‘pals’ to wade in at me. Plenty to wade in about… lol!

        As one sad cunt to another, can I suggest you maybe concentrate your time and energy on B&F ?

      • November 23, 2010 9:03 pm

        I wouldn’t shout about it Al, you may end up on your own.

        Look, I’m not critising the whole of the man’s blog just this entry is about ORANGE and if you find that an interesting subject, well so be it. This page has a comments section, I’m entitled to an opinion so I gave it. If you want to continue to blow smoke up Robs wheeto, then feel free to carry on.

        As for B&F, it is what it is…I don’t think it’s lost it’s charm as it never had it from the offset, we just do what we do. It was initially set up as a site for mixes, but I was advised to add content to pad it out a bit, one thing’s for sure it’s never been serious and, at the time, something that wasn’t out there; music/mixes, clothes and everything else. I certainly don’t need to analyse it as I dont really care that much.

        You should be grateful anyway Rob, today’s most traffic you’ve probably had yet..quick, check your stats.

        Carry on campers.

      • November 23, 2010 10:27 pm

        I’m sure he has a lovely wheeto*, but it’s not my intention to blow smoke up, or even see Rob’s wheeto for that matter. ‘Tis not for me. No offence Rob.

        A post on a fashion blog, written by a graphic designer, about a colour, isn’t that surprising, is it? ?

        Being on my own doesn’t bother me, so I’ll continue to post photos of myself and not take myself seriously. I still wish I had the ability to feel ‘shame’.

        I let you have the last word, so won’t post any other comments.

        Al

        ps

        Didn’t we used to discuss the pros and cons of colours on trainers on CT?

        *I still think of you and Huw every time I see boxes of Weetos in supermarkets

  12. November 23, 2010 3:13 pm

    ^ Cheers chaps. Glad some people are into it.

  13. Rob permalink
    November 23, 2010 5:19 pm

    Orange and Blue is always a winning combo. By far the most suited complimentary colours.

  14. Mark_ProperMag permalink
    November 24, 2010 1:53 am

    Ignore the haters, the colour orange is a wardrobe staple for me. I’ve several knits and one or two other nice pieces in orange. It was a popular colourway when I wore adidas trainers too.

  15. November 24, 2010 9:56 pm

    wow i’ve never seen such a reaction to colour. the subject is really important and i honestly love a chat about colour, as trend prediction(not just fashion but social) is a part of what I do i find it really interesting how people reaction to it, so this is a damn good example. love a bit of orange but only really even considered it in accessories. i have two pairs of uniqlo socks and i always get good comments on them, esp with desert boots or even just trainers.

    it seems colour is a hot subject.

Leave a Reply

