Skip to content

Yuketen Deck Chukkas

November 16, 2010

So the shoebargo is well and truly broken, with a new pair of Achilles, a pair of Clarks Desert boots and now a pair of Yuketen’s in the last six weeks. Oh well, we all knew it’d never last anyway…

I’ve said many a time that I don’t like deck shoes, never have and probably never will – they just do nothing for me. I do however like a bit of deck chukka action and have at last taken the plunge with an orange suede pair from Yuketen that I bought from Up There whilst I was in Melbourne.

I’ve fancied a pair for ages but considering the ubiquity of the moccasin toe of late I’d been considering not bothering at all. However, disregarding a type of footwear (or clothing) just because they’re particularly popular seems stupid at best, so I’ve taken the plunge. I’m glad I did too as these things are incredibly comfortable, lightweight and the orange suede helps they stand out from the myriad leather versions out there.

They’re also much more hard wearing than I’d thought they were going to be having taken a battering on the beach, being soaked in a storm and being stood on countless times – a quick brush and they look good as new so hopefully they’ll continue to be durable and the suede will stay fresh.

I love the way they’ve produced the leather for them too – they’ve kept all three layers of the pigskin they’re made from meaning that one side is the lovely suede of the outer, whilst the inside is a soft supple leather. It also makes for a thick hard-wearing material (whereas sometimes chukkas can be quite thin and not offer much support) that also benefits from being extremely comfy without the need to line the inner.

The leather inner’s also makes them warmer than they’ve got any right to be (I reckon you could easily wonder around on a cold day sockless in them and not notice, not that I’m going to try it mind you). Then add in the fact that the deck sole is seriously grippy, meaning I’ve not been slipping about on the frosted leaves that seem to be covering the pavements in North London and you’ve got a great pair of shoes.

It’s a wonder it’s taken me so long to get myself a pair…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    November 16, 2010 1:52 pm

    Deck shoes are a mainstay of my wardrobe and have been for about 16 years. I think I did my GCSEs wearing deck shoes! A classic shoe that never goes out of style however much their popularity ebbs and flows, plus they have the added bonus of still looking good when they’re a bit battered. I’ve currently got 3 pairs at various stages of their lives.

    • November 16, 2010 5:09 pm

      I did my GCSE’s in a pair of green adidas campus, I skated in them trainers and wore them to death…

      Anyway, I get why people love deck shoes and my chukka’s have reinforced that in a lot of ways, but for me I feel really awkward in them. I’ve tried countless pairs on but have never found a pair that I think I look good in.

      Maybe that’ll change one day but for now I’ll make do with their big brothers.

  2. November 16, 2010 9:41 pm

    i have deck shoes but they only ones i wear now(well not now, not past summer) is some green ones. only becasuse they’re an unusual colour. the colour of these is so rich, i am looking for something like this but leather. though, no point as i don’t have cash!

  3. Brendan permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:18 pm

    You have got more than you bargained for with those Yuketen. They are 100% USA Cowhide not just pigskin!

Leave a Reply

