Skip to content

Old and new

October 26, 2010

So I’ve broken my self imposed footwear ban and bought a new pair of Common Projects Achilles low in white. However, this is more of a replacing an old pair rather than something completely new so I think I can justify that…

I love this trainer, they’re simple, beautifully made and look good with pretty much anything. They’re a summer trainer, no doubt about that and I’ll be leaving them boxed up for most of the next few months, although they’ll probably be coming out on the odd bright but cold Autumn day.

Anyway, here’s a few comparison pics between my two year old ones that I’ve worn pretty much everyday come rain or shine and my new box fresh pair:

You can see in the last pic that even though these are being called ‘original Achilles’ now, the shape is pretty different from their first versions. Most noticeable is the tongue length has been increased (which is a shame) as has the length of the toe box. Also I don’t like the synthetic laces they’re now coming with and will be swapping these round.

If I’m honest the new ones aren’t anywhere near as good a shape as the old versions, they’re still a lovely trainer but the first generation versions are the better of the two and I don’t understand why they can’t get the shape exactly the same – if they think it’s an improvement it’s really not, I know it’s not a massive deal and you wouldn’t know unless they were side by side but the originals are still better.

The old ones are past their best now for sure. They’re scuffed, creased, denim stained and the soles are very worn down, plus there’s a fair amount of whitener on them, although a lot of this can be scrubbed out and then lightly re-applied to protect the leather but look closer to original, it won’t cover up the scuffs but I think they’re beyond that now and it’s fine, they’re just going to be a pair of beaters from now on.

And anyway, I’ve got a nice new pair to wear now.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 10:31 am

    All that money and they sell them with synthetic laces. That is a very poor show… Especially as their price has soared since their inception.

  2. October 25, 2010 5:59 pm

    Great comparison pic. I’ve not been able to wear my first additions nearly enough for them to have the same character but I’m inspired. Why did you by a new pair? From a collector standpoint I can see a reason for having a couple of pairs around. I do think there is something about holding on to and continuing to wear a classic piece way beyond its expiration date. I think it’s the character of the shoe/clothing/accessory over time that inspires people to want it again, reissue, or reinvent it for the next generation. I think this one has become sort of an Iconic shoe. No?

    • November 1, 2010 5:40 pm

      I got a new pair mainly because I like shiny new shoes! Well that and the fact that they’re still not an easy trainer to get hold of – so I thought I’d get a pair whilst I could and just stash them away for a while.

      I am still wearing my original pair loads, they’re just so comfy now and now they’re a bit scuffed and old looking I don’t find myself worrying about them as much, meaning I wear them more.

      I certainly think they’ve become an iconic trainer, they’re without doubt the best trainer of their kind, it’s just a shame they’ve changed the shape.

  3. October 25, 2010 6:35 pm

    they have worn really well seeing you have had them two years though, wowzers. you getting rid, i’ll have first dibs!

    nice comp shots too, the tongue is loads longer and the laces meh. i don’t mind either but for the price they should be gold plated

  4. October 26, 2010 4:11 pm

    def nice trainers but could never bring myself round to spending that much on a pair when I know the abuse I’ll put em through they’ll only last 6-12 months max. nothing still surpasses jack purcell leather’s imho for combination of comfort/style/price

  5. Ronan permalink
    October 28, 2010 10:01 am

    How does the leather quality compare between the two? Have you noticed any difference?

Leave a Reply

