Skip to content

Vanishing Elephant

October 13, 2010

Later on today I’m jetting off to Australia for three weeks on a well deserved break (it’s the first time I’ve had more than a week off in one go for about seven years). Anyway, whilst I’m out there I’ll be doing a bit of shopping (window shopping, obviously), checking out stores like One of a kind and Incu and generally seeing what the place has to offer. One brand I’m looking forward to seeing whilst I’m over there is Vanishing Elephant.

Vanishing Elephant is a Sydney-based Menswear brand designed by three friends – Felix Chan, Huw Bennett and Arran Russell. All three have had experience in the industry prior to starting their own label – Chan was a buyer for Incu, Bennett had his own sales agency and Russell was as an Art Director for Maharashi. So the guys were experienced enough to go it alone, which they did starting Vanishing Elephant back in 2008.

What they’ve managed to produce are collections of very wearable, simple menswear that also have plenty of interest within them. From the fabrics and patterns to the cuts and shapes, nothing is particularly out there but neither is it bland, it’s just, well, good.

In terms of stand-out pieces I honestly think that everything looks great and I’m liking the styling that’s been done to each look. The navy jumper with white stripes is something you could wear with whatever you owned and it’d look ace, same with the red and white large stripe jumper above it. The shirting is simple but looks great (the patterned one in the second to last image being my favourite of the lot). Then the green coat, suiting, shorts, those striped chinos – they’re all wicked pieces of clothing too.

All of the above shots are from their upcoming ‘Them Old Cotton Fields’ collection, so it won’t be available when I’m over there unfortunately. I can’t wait to see what is though and I reckon it’ll be hard not to purchase at least a few pieces from them…

If you want more information on the brand, or to find a stockist near you have a look at their website here: Vanishing Elephant.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. smartypants123 permalink
    October 13, 2010 11:40 am

    Well have yourself a cracking time out there.

    I went last year & had a ball, although it was stupidly hot, thought I was going to melt. In terms of this brand they are great & you’ll really like the gear, there are a few places out there stocking it.

  2. October 14, 2010 11:02 am

    Nice looking collection

  3. October 14, 2010 10:10 pm

    hey pal

    where are you going in Australia?

    I live in Brisbane and if you’d like any pointers as to good things to do/go to etc, I’d be happy to help out

    Theo

    • October 18, 2010 6:07 am

      Hey chap,

      I’m in Melbourne at the moment, well just outside staying with friends. Did the decent Melbourne stores today and going down the coast tomorrow for a few days, then jetting to Sydney next Tuesday for five days (where I’ll be going to One of a Kind). What else could/would you recommend for me to do in Melbourne and Sydney?

      • October 24, 2010 5:25 pm

        Hey

        I’m really sorry I’ve not replied sooner, no real reason, just had a bastard of a week and it wasn’t on my mind.

        I hadn’t heard of this One of a Kind spot, but on looking it up, you’re basically set for where you want to be. I’m not super familiar with Sydney, cos I’ve only been there a few times in recent years, but that Burton St area is where most/everything good that I’ve come across seems to be.

        http://www.supplystore.com.au/contact/

        is a good shop, I feel a bit awkward recommending stuff, considering most of this gear is probably available to people from the UK straight up, but down here it’s rareish. Anyhow, they stock heaps of Japanese stuff (visvim, neighbourhood etc as well as supreme, kaws and their own line of stuff, which is really good)

        In that area, there is also a Carhartt store and I know there are a few other good shops. Last time I was in Sydney, I went from one end of Burton st to the other, pretty slowly, and it took a few hours, but it’s a very nice cruise/heaps of good lil shops n such to pop into and people to watch.

        I’m not sure what you’re looking for in terms of touristy type stuff, if anything, but when I popped into the Museum of Sydney (http://www.hht.net.au/museums/mos) which was pretty good, more localised/interesting stuff than your general museums. Of course, if you just pick up some street press or whatever, all that kind of stuff is more available/better than i can describe.

        The last thing i would recommend is this amazing italian place in King’s Cross. It’s a grocery-cum-restaurant – these are the details (the first place is the grocers, the second the restaurant)

        Fratelli Fresh Potts Point:
        ph.0293686655
        Monday – Friday 11am – 8pm
        Saturday, Sunday 10am – 6pm

        Cafe Sopra Potts Point:
        ph.0293686666
        Monday – Saturday 12am – 3pm and 6pm – 10pm
        Sunday 12am – 3pm and 6pm – 9pm
        No bookings taken

        However, I’m not sure what the Italian is like in the UK, so that might seem unexciting, but it’s pretttty awesome. Otherwise, again, I’m a bit limp on recommendations, it could be good to just ask around at whatever place you’re staying etc.

        Well, I’m not sure what else I could really recommend, hope I was somewhat helpful/you have a good time

        Theo

      • October 25, 2010 1:54 am

        Mate, that’s amazing – thank you so much for taking the time to write all of that for me, it helps loads. I’ll certainly be going to Supply now and the little Italian sounds really nice. By the sounds of things we’ve fluked a good area to stay in!

        Thanks again.

  4. November 16, 2010 5:33 am

    Hey

    Out of interest which places did you go to in Melbourne – other than Incu and Up There?

    I’m visiting next week and don’t really know of any other places which are good – itd be nice to have a few more to visit.

    Cheers

    Seb

Leave a Reply

