Skip to content

A visit to Ruffians

May 14, 2014

Last week I had the pleasure of being invited by Ruffians the Barbers, to their flagship store in London’s Covent Garden, for them to tidy my face up and make me a bit more presentable. Since setting up in Edinburgh two years ago, they’ve won a plethora of awards and are setting the standard for Barber’s up and down the land so I knew I’d be in good hands.

IMG_4760

IMG_4872

IMG_4828

IMG_4424

Now here’s my admission – I haven’t set foot in a barbers since I was 16, because for the last 20 years I’ve cut my own hair. And I haven’t been clean shaven for at least the last decade either, so the whole experience was somewhat new. So with a small amount of trepidation I opted for a beard trim and tidy up, plus a wet shave.

From the moment I set foot in the place the experience was spot on, and throughout the visit everything was done to make sure I was as comfortable and relaxed as possible. The space itself is a good blend of tradition but set within a contemporary environment – it’s all too easy for a barbers to feel quite ‘throw back’ as they try to recreate a traditional masculine environment, whereas Ruffians has created something altogether more modern.

IMG_4451

IMG_4726

IMG_4818

IMG_4940

Sitting myself in the chair and getting down to business, I was left in the capable hands of Stephen, who began by giving me a full beard trim and tidy up, before a face/throat scrub, followed by a hot towel to prepare me for a cut-throat shave. It was the first time I’d had someone else take a blade to my face and although it was somewhat disconcerting, it took no time at all and was surprisingly comfortable. Then another hot towel followed, before a second pass with the blade, cold towel and finally a moisturiser to finish off.

The last thing Stephen did was to tidy up my hair, all of which left me feeling like a new, super-groomed man. The whole thing took just over an hour but felt much quicker and I’ve got to admit that I’m hooked! As they say, the difference is in the details and my newly groomed self was noticed immediately – my wife said how good I looked as did friends, so it must have made me look miles better than I normally do. So from now on I’m getting everything done properly, hell if I could afford it I’d get it done on a weekly basis, that’s how much difference I thought it made.

Because I’m too lazy to take my own photographs, the above images come courtesy of Jonathan Daniel Pryce. For more information, to see the full range of services and to get yourself booked in for an appointment, go to the website here: Ruffians.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2014 9:27 am

    Ha Ha Ha – so you did not go full wet shave Rob???

    I bloody love a wet shave me – Turkish barbers, Golden Scissors, in Brum is very good and if I lived a bit nearer it would be a weekly event. They wet shave me swede an all….

    Question Rob – do you just clip your own hair with a grade four or summat???

    • May 30, 2014 9:46 am

      No mate, my face looks miles better with a beard so I just shave my neck.

      As to cutting my own hair, yeah I just use clippers – 7 on top and 5 back and sides. Then the wife does the back. Which is probably why it’s always on the wonk…

      However from now on I’m just getting the pro’s to do it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,822 other followers

