Skip to content

Dolbeau madrass tie

July 3, 2012

Admittedly I don’t wear a tie very often, it’s something that for me, is usually reserved for weddings, funerals and the odd christening. That doesn’t mean to say that I don’t own a few though and when Dolbeau contacted me to tell me about their range of ties I thought it begged a close up look.

So last week the postman rang the door bell and presented me with a small box containing my handmade tie, all the way from Canada. I opted for one of their new ‘Julien’s Japanese Madras ties’ and it’s excellent. You never quite know what you’re going to get when shopping on the internet but this is really well made and I’m very happy with it.

It’s a good width and perfectly slip stitched, with a orange bar tack either end and lined with 100% brushed cotton and 100% spun horsehair. Navy blue Japanese Benberg Cupro cotton is used as the finishing touch for the tipping. It’s a thin tie, making it sit flat to the chest and meaning it wears well under knitwear as well as a jacket (whereas a traditional seven-fold can sit quite proud and look messy).

If you’re in the market for a new tie these guys are more than worth a look. For more information on the brand, or to buy one for yourself via their online shop, go to the website here: Dolbeau.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2012 8:26 am

    it’s a very nice thing. i feel the same about ties and never wear them. i used to when i was in my teens and have quite a big collection but never feel right.

  2. Smartypants123 permalink
    July 5, 2012 4:26 pm

    Tidy, you’ve done well there lad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,898 other followers

