Skip to content

Our Legacy suiting

July 7, 2011

I’ve done quite a few posts banging on about suits in the past. Although I wear one only occasionally, I’ve got a cracking black, skinny-as-you-like number from Mui Mui that gets worn on special occasions and is always complimented. It’s not exactly casual though and I have been thinking that I’d like something that’s still quite formal but a bit more relaxed, fun even.

So when I saw the casual suiting (blazer and trousers as opposed to ‘suit’) that Our Legacy have knocked out for the Autumn/Winter season, I was rather interested.

Both of the above blazers are made from beautiful, premium 100% Italian virgin wool – the grey version being a mélange with a subtle blend of reds, yellows and blues running throughout it, and the navy blue being a plain (but certainly no less nice) twill.

They’re both single breasted, three button affairs, but the lapels are rolling, meaning they can be worn as a two-button with the lapel’s fully down or as a three button with the lapels up higher (a bit like my Cabourn Malory can be), making them both great for cold Autumn days when you want to be a bit more coverage.

Both also feature three outer patch pockets (two lower and a chest), four button cuffs (I don’t know if they work or not though), a single inner pocket and part lining with a white contrast taping on the inside center seam. There’s also matching trousers available for each (wouldn’t be suits without them, would they), in a regular fit and featuring a pleated front with zip fly and a pair of button closed rear pockets.

Both versions are available now from Newcastle’s finest, End Clothing, so for more information, or to get yourself kitted out, go here: Our Legacy suiting.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ben permalink
    July 8, 2011 10:42 am

    Love the whole overall look of both outfits, spot on! any idea on who makes the tie? and availability?

    • Smartypants123 permalink
      July 12, 2011 8:53 pm

      Looks like Alexander Olch to me mate. Pardon my French but this stuff is fucking ace.

      • ben permalink
        July 13, 2011 2:58 pm

        cheers ill investigate!

    • July 13, 2011 4:01 pm

      Sorry fella, I’ve been really slack with checking comments recently. I don’t know for sure but I’m with Mr.Pants and Alexander Olch.

  2. July 8, 2011 6:06 pm

    i’m terrible with suits. i don’t like the ones on the highstreet as they never fit me right and i’m not mega keen on the very light material based ones. but i can’t go much higher in price cos i can’t afford. they’re always 1 button too which i don’t like and they don’t fit me right.

    this is the sort of thing i’d go for, i need to keen an eye out for the paul smith sample sales

    • July 13, 2011 4:10 pm

      One button suits don’t look right on me either, I’m two button all the way. Have you had a look at Cos suits mate? They’re not bad and fit pretty well off the peg (and are around the £200 mark).

      Next time you’re in London have a look in the Paul Smith sales shop on Avery Row, there’s often cheap(er) suits in there.

  3. Superprecise permalink
    July 14, 2011 10:53 am

    I have this suit in grey. The label inside calls it a their ‘baseball suit’, whatever that means. A grey wool suit had been on my long term list of wardrobe wants (this list actually exists, I’m ashamed to admit) for ages, so when this popped up on End’s site I was all over it. Specifically, I wanted a mid-grey suit with a bit of texture. The interesting flecks of coloured yarn and the tortoiseshell buttons are what made this an instant purchase for me, whereas usually I spend months mulling over purchases.

    I was anxious (I mean, who buys a suit online without ever having laid eyes on it in the flesh, let alone tried it on?) when it arrived but really very pleased on opening the box as the fabric is beautiful. From afar it’s a warm grey, without the harsh bluish colour that a lot of plain grey suits have. Close up, the fabric is marvellous and rich with colour.

    If you look closely at the measurements given in End’s listing, you’d be forgiven for thinking it is an extremely small fit. However, although the suit is a slim-fit, this isn’t really the case. I take a medium in most things or a large in some outerwear. My suit size (not that I’m in the habit, this being my first new suit in about eight years) is a 50. My waist size is 33″. I originally ordered the XL jacket, anticipating small sizing, but ended up returning for the large which is just right. The large trousers were perfect. I may still take the whole suit to a tailor’s to see if it can be altered to get the fit exactly right, even though it’s already good.

    One thing I was concerned about was the weight of the fabric; it’s quite thin yet made of wool, so overall a medium weight. The suit is only part-lined, with the sleeves (as well as all the pockets) lined in white. I know pure wool suits have a tendency to pull about and lose their shape with extended use, particularly when they’re unlined, so it’ll be interesting to see how it fares. That said, it’ll probably be saved for special occasions anyway.

    I’m quite broad of shoulder and I have large thighs from cycling, so Our Legacy’s cuts tend to suit (sorry) me well. While this is supposedly a slimmer, more fitted shape than their previous releases, it still isn’t a really trim, sharp fit. Instead, it has a slightly more casual, dare I say old-fashioned, silhouette which I for one think is great and in-keeping with Our Legacy’s aesthetic. While I will wear it as a two-button, it’s nice to have the extra, third top button for when it’s nippy. The gentle roll of the lapel in two-button mode, as opposed a pressed edge, is also nice.

    For the moment I’ll be teaming the suit up, somewhat predictably, with an oxford shirt and a knitted tie for more formal occasions or wear the jacket and trousers separately with whatever takes my fancy. In that respect it’s pretty versatile. By the way the green tie above is definitely by Alexander Olch.

    On the downside, it is quite expensive for an unlined suit, but the fabric quality is there and you’ll not find anything else like it in a hurry. If it’s what you’ve been looking for, as it was for me, then snap it up because End only had one jacket in each size and it won’t be available readily elsewhere (Coggles have some I noticed). Furthermore, If I had to be really pedantic (I do, always), I’d also say that it’s a shame the cuff buttons aren’t proper working ones.

    There you are then, my thoughts in rather large nutshell.

    • July 14, 2011 11:11 am

      Thank you very much mate, great and informative for anyone else after one of these suits.

      Hope the suit does you well too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,822 other followers

